Petition to redress of grievances

I posted this in another thread, but I wanted to post it as its own thread because I think this might be an idea to consider and I wanted to get people’s thoughts. I think the next short format vidchat should be on a theme, and in this case, the 1st amendment, and more specifically, petition of the government for redress of grievances. So, what I propose is a discussion along the following lines: if you were to compose a hypothetical petition to government for redress of grievances, what would those grievances be? And then, how would those grievances be expressed in a written document?

3 Likes

I’m no lawyer, nor even an American; but, if one asks for an expression of grievances, isn’t that an invitation to fight again battles which were already fought by the founding fathers, and isn’t it to put the people in a position of supplication?
Surely the way forward is for the people to demand that the existing constitution be enforced rather than trampled as at present? The written document already exists, signed and sealed.

My intention in suggesting it, was to get people to think about "things that need to get fixed, one of which is to observe it.

@vardas3 No doubt that’s something we all need to do, even us non-Americans :slight_smile:

Yea… I just wanted to start the process… getting to SPECIFICS would help focus our minds one what needs to be done.

1 Like

@vardas3 Well, Number One on my list of grievances would be that the constitution is not being enforced! To avoid squabbling over what else should appear on the list, I think my list would only have one item!

Unfortunately, that is the kind of generalization I hope to avoid.

@vardas3 Oh dear. Well, as I said, I think the founding fathers handled the specifics rather well.